• Havoc
  • Caius
  • redboot
  • Rules
  • Chain of Command
  • Members
  • Supported Ladders & Games
  • Downloads


F 14 Question GQG Reserve
07-10-2020, 09:05 AM,
#1
F 14 Question GQG Reserve
What is the GQG Reserve? It has no HQ. When Divisions or Corps are attached to GQG Reserve are they always out of command? Many units begin the game attached to GQG Reserve. There is no explanation in the rules.   jonny Whistle
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2020, 10:33 AM,
#2
RE: F 14 Question GQG Reserve
From the notes.dbf

Grand Quartier Général - Supreme Headquarters

The second distinctive characteristic about the French Army and its attachment capabilities are its reserve and territorial divisions. The GQG Reserve and Territorial Reserve contain individual divisions allowing the French to attach these divisions as needed, directly to various armies if necessary
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2020, 10:50 AM,
#3
RE: F 14 Question GQG Reserve
(07-10-2020, 10:33 AM)wildb Wrote: From the notes.dbf

Grand Quartier Général - Supreme Headquarters

The second distinctive characteristic about the French Army and its attachment capabilities are its reserve and territorial divisions.  The GQG Reserve and Territorial Reserve contain individual divisions allowing the French to attach these divisions as needed, directly to various armies if necessary

Yes thank you. But do they stay in command? They are not attached to any HQ unit that is on the board.  jonny Big Grin2
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2020, 12:50 PM,
#4
RE: F 14 Question GQG Reserve
(07-10-2020, 10:50 AM)jonnymacbrown Wrote:
(07-10-2020, 10:33 AM)wildb Wrote: From the notes.dbf

Grand Quartier Général - Supreme Headquarters

The second distinctive characteristic about the French Army and its attachment capabilities are its reserve and territorial divisions.  The GQG Reserve and Territorial Reserve contain individual divisions allowing the French to attach these divisions as needed, directly to various armies if necessary

Yes thank you. But do they stay in command? They are not attached to any HQ unit that is on the board.  jonny Big Grin2

Depends.

From the notes again:
"In some scenarios there are supreme HQ units, such as OHL; GQG; and GHQ; which have a 0% chance of arrival. Any scenario where an HQ unit is scheduled for a 0% arrival chance is an intentional representation that the higher HQ is out of range and remains out of range of the units that are depicted in the scenario."

I don't have much experience with the larger F'14 scenarios, but from the above I'd assume the units attaches directly to the GQG stay out of command until you attach them to a separate army.
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2020, 10:24 PM,
#5
RE: F 14 Question GQG Reserve
(07-10-2020, 12:50 PM)CheerfullyInsane Wrote:
(07-10-2020, 10:50 AM)jonnymacbrown Wrote:
(07-10-2020, 10:33 AM)wildb Wrote: From the notes.dbf

Grand Quartier Général - Supreme Headquarters

The second distinctive characteristic about the French Army and its attachment capabilities are its reserve and territorial divisions.  The GQG Reserve and Territorial Reserve contain individual divisions allowing the French to attach these divisions as needed, directly to various armies if necessary

Yes thank you. But do they stay in command? They are not attached to any HQ unit that is on the board.  jonny Big Grin2

Depends.

From the notes again:
"In some scenarios there are supreme HQ units, such as OHL; GQG; and GHQ; which have a 0% chance of arrival. Any scenario where an HQ unit is scheduled for a 0% arrival chance is an intentional representation that the higher HQ is out of range and remains out of range of the units that are depicted in the scenario."

I don't have much experience with the larger F'14 scenarios, but from the above I'd assume the units attaches directly to the GQG stay out of command until you attach them to a separate army.
Yes that sounds right. Thanks Wildb and Cheerfully for the help. French Army command radii are c. 30 hexes and never come close to overlapping. So yes the best way forward is attachment to an Army command. It isn't possible to attach to Generalissimo Joffre' (I guess he's too busy having wine & cheese). jonny Helmet Rolleyes
Quote this message in a reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)